Dr John Hudome says “alcohol and drug problems start at age 13”

The most common age of first use of drugs or alcohol reported in rehab programs and to me in my private practice is 13. This shocked me when I learned this many years ago. Age 13 doesn’t shock anyone working in a rehab facility. It surprised me very much. This just seemed too young. Most of us were in 7th or 8th grade at age 13.

Although I was surprised by the first use age of 13, I can still recall the group of boys in my 7th and 8th grade class whom drank alcohol (reportedly by them) regularly on the weekends. So this isn’t a new phenomenon at all. It was occurring in my class in the 1968 and 69. Here’s a video.

The “take away” here? Talk to your kids about these things. Also, remember that they see what you do. You can’t preach one thing and do another. Maybe you should role model responsible use or, no use at all.

Dr John

Leave a comment

Filed under Child, childcare, Children, Family, homework, Parenting, psychology

Leave a comment